Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko

Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko

This is a great book that I have recently read. It stars a 12-year-old boy named Moose Flanagan who lives on Alcatraz. Where is Alcatraz? Alcatraz is an island “jail”, where America’s top criminals were kept in the mid-1900s. Alcatraz is located near San Francisco, California. Among the few people on Alcatraz who were not criminals lived Moose Flanagan. Moose Flanagan lived on Alcatraz because his father worked as a jail guard. Moose’s sister, Natalie, was diagnosed with autism- an illness that affects her brain. Moose’s experiences in Alcatraz are unique… his childhood was completely different from other children at that time, and it was fun seeing what kind of sacrifices he had to make because he lived on an island full of prisoners. I recommend this book to readers 10 and older. This book is part of the Al Capone Series- there is Al Capone Does My Shirts (book #1), Al Capone Shines My Shoes (book #2), and Al Capone Does My Homework (book #3). Alcatraz is no longer an active prison but attracts many tourists. I hope that one day you will get the chance to read this fascinating book!

2 thoughts on “Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko

Leave a Reply

